Different states across America have varying codes guiding electrical technicians in their work. However, most state jurisdictions require license holders to undertake an electrical continuing education and evaluation before license renewal. License holders should attend the classes within the period specified by each state to qualify.
Here is what technicians should understand about electrical continuing education.
How Electrical Continuing Education Works
State jurisdictions regulate electrician licenses using prescribed laws. Different states mandate certain education providers to offer the courses online. Only courses administered by accredited providers will qualify for consideration.
Continuing education follows a multistep approach as follows:
Applicants can create individual accounts through an online portal provided by the training institution. The account contains personal registration and identification details for the applicant. Some states, however, do not accept online courses; hence licensees should verify eligibility before enrollment.
License holders can select their preferred courses for certification and renewal from the portal. Applicants should ensure they are approved by the state jurisdiction where they practice when selecting a course.
Course participants can access training manuals online while following a specific schedule. Training manuals are accessible via desktop computers, laptops, and smartphones.
Upon meeting the continuing education hours, electrical technicians can receive a certificate of completion and apply for license renewal.
Who Can Qualify for Electrical Continuing Education?
Practicing electrical technicians who hold licenses can undertake continuing education. Generally, the courses are ideal for the following professionals:
- Master electricians
- Journeyman electricians/linemen/industrial technicians
- Residential wiremen
- Master sign electricians
- Maintenance electricians
- Apprentice electricians
What Does the Course Cover?
Course content for license renewal may vary across different states. Therefore, licensees need to verify that the content matches what the state requires.
Broadly, the content includes:
- The National Electrical Code.
- The State’s Electrician Laws.
- The State’s Electrician Administrative Rules.
- Electrical Safety.
How Many Credit Hours Should Licensees Have?
Different states have varying requirements for training hours necessary for licensing. The training hours are subject to change if the state revises the electricians’ code.
In Washington, for instance, licensees should have at least 24 hours of electrical continuing education within the three years of license renewal. The training includes 8 hours on the National Electrical Code and 4 hours on Washington Administrative Codes. The remaining 12 hours can be in any relevant, approved course.
Other states such as Arkansas, Delaware, and North Carolina only require 8 hours of continuing electrical education.
Can License Holders Renew Inactive Licenses?
Yes. Some states allow inactive license holders to renew their licenses by undertaking continuing education training and reapplying for license renewal. Inactive licensees may not require an apprenticeship or pre-license training to renew their licenses. However, electrical continuing education is a vital requirement when seeking license renewal.
Benefits of Electrical Continuing Education
Continuing education is a necessity for every practicing electrician. Without CE classes, renewing a license may not be possible.
Besides licensing, CE for electrical technicians offers the following benefits:
- It helps technicians improve their skills and adapt to changes.
- It helps technicians remain competitive in the job market.
- Informs technicians about changes in electrical codes.